Leagues, Story, UEFA Champions League

Products You May Like

UEFA has picked St. Petersburg, Munich and London to host the Champions League finals from 2021 through 2023.

The decision was announced after an executive committee meeting on Tuesday. UEFA has made good on its strategy of focusing on long-term planning for the biggest game in world football. It has typically awarded the hosting rights one year at a time.

The finals will be played at the home stadiums of Zenit St. Petersburg, Bayern Munich and England’s national team. All three stadiums will also host 2020 European Championship games.

UEFA’s executive committee also awarded the 2021 Europa League final to Spain, at Sevilla’s Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan stadium. Georgia was the other bidder, proposing the national arena in Tbilisi.

The ExCo also announced that the third-tier club competition that begins in 2021 will be called the UEFA Europa Conference League with the aim of  “giving more clubs in more countries a chance to participate in European football.”

The 2021 Super Cup — played between the winners of that year’s Champions League and Europa League — will be played at Northern Ireland’s national stadium in Belfast.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

LIVE Transfer Talk: Man United plot surprise move for Timo Werner
Juventus, Inter Milan draw in top-of-table clash
Havertz sends Arsenal top with winner at Brentford
Everton fan-group fly protest banner over Etihad
Premier League title race is wide open, as every team has issues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *